Good Natured

The Heart Chakra

Connecting to a love-focused life

By Karen Frye

The chakra system, comprised of seven major energetic centers, is inside each of us. Constantly spinning, these centers run vertically through the body from the base of the spine to the crown of the head, creating a kind of spiritual nervous system.

Each of the seven chakras has a particular organ or gland to assist. In order to operate efficiently, the chakras must be balanced. Tuning in to the seven centers in the morning before getting out of bed is the best way to ensure they are all in sync, helping you maintain an energetic body. Often, physical and emotional imbalances improve.

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra located in the center of our being. It represents love, which is the glue of the universe. The field of love that is all around us is intelligent and compassionate, ready to embrace us and bring us countless blessings. We need only to melt away the barriers we build around ourselves to receive it. When we open our hearts fully, we wash away the fears that keep love away.

February is the month to open your heart, connect to the love you feel, and receive the love given to you by others.

Generosity, compassion and forgiveness can all generate the opening of the heart. You never know when selfless acts of kindness will have a ripple effect in the world, creating positive change.

When you live from your heart center and address situations with love rather than a negative state of mind, the most incredible, and seemingly impossible, outcomes can emerge. Grasping the power of a “love-focused life” can lead to less hardship, sadness and anxiety.

Let it begin one day at a time.  PS

Karen Frye is the owner and founder of Nature’s Own and teaches yoga at the Bikram Yoga Studio.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.