Bookshelf

August Books

FICTION

The Dishwasher, by Stéphane Larue

Set in the dark underbelly of a high-end Toronto restaurant kitchen, The Dishwasher is a tragicomedy that follows a down-on-his-luck 30-something artist with a fabulous taste in music and a little gambling addiction. As much a philosophical dive into life, love, trust, obsession and heavy metal as it is a good story, The Dishwasher will make you laugh, cringe, shake your head and drool over the amazing food. It’s hard to put this quirky but cool debut novel by Canadian author Larue down. Perfect for fans of David Sedaris or Anthony Bourdain.

The Passengers, by John Marrs

At a time when advances in artificial intelligence are making some people uneasy in the real world, Marrs has upped the ante in his new novel. Eight people are riding in their self-driving cars when suddenly the doors lock and their routes change. A voice tells them they’re going to die. The hacker who has trapped them leaves their fate to a committee of five and social media to decide which passenger should be saved. What makes one person more valuable than another? And what secrets are the hacker, the passengers and the committee hiding? The Passengers is thrilling ride!

The Swallows, by Lisa Lutz

In a blistering, timely tale of revenge and disruption, The Swallows shows us what can happen when silence wins out over decency for too long. When Alexandra Witt joins the faculty at Stonebridge Academy, she’s hoping to put a painful past behind her. Then one of her creative writing assignments generates some disturbing responses from students. Before long, Alex is immersed in an investigation of the students atop the school’s social hierarchy and their connection to something called the Darkroom. She inspires the girls who have started to question the school’s “boys will be boys” attitude and encourages their resistance. Just as the movement gains momentum, Alex attracts the attention of an unknown enemy who knows a little too much about her, and what brought her to Stonebridge in the first place.

Hollow Kingdom, by Kira Jane Buxton

S.T., a domesticated crow, is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle’s wild crows (those idiots), and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer — Cheetos. Then Big Jim’s eyeball falls out of his head, and S.T. starts to feel like something isn’t quite right. His most tried-and-true remedies — from beak-delivered beer to the slobbering affection of Big Jim’s loyal but dim-witted dog, Dennis — fail to cure Big Jim’s debilitating malady. S.T. is left with no choice but to abandon his old life and venture out into a wild and frightening new world with his trusty steed Dennis, where he discovers that the neighbors are devouring each other and the local wildlife is abuzz with rumors of dangerous new predators roaming Seattle. Humanity’s extinction has seemingly arrived, and the only one determined to save it is a foul-mouthed crow whose knowledge of the world around him comes from his TV-watching education. Hollow Kingdom is a humorous, big-hearted romp.

A Nice Cup of Tea, by Celia Imrie

Foodie fun, a Cote d’Azur setting, five outrageous friends, and a rogue grandchild all combine to make this page-turning cottage mystery the absolute perfect choice for a day on the beach. The third book in the “Nice” series by Imrie, this continuation of the story of five expats who own a restaurant in the Bellevue-Sur-Mer also serves as a stand-alone, and will delight both series fans and those just looking for a quick trip to the South of France

NONFICTION

The Mosquito: The Human History of Our Deadliest Predator, by Timothy C. Winegard

Winegard takes us on a fascinating and delightful journey through the annals of human history, showing us just how much we owe our existence to the lowly mosquito. Were it not for the mosquito, America, Britain and numerous other nations would not exist in their present form, and the victors of countless wars would have otherwise been defeated. No other creature has transformed human civilization and evolution so profoundly, and no other book has told this epic story from a global perspective in this extraordinary look at the mosquito’s impact on our modern world order.

The Ghosts of Eden Park: The Bootleg King, the Women Who Pursued Him and the Murder That Shocked Jazz Age America, by Karen Abbott

In this true crime story from the New York Times best-selling author of Sin in the Second City and Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy, a German immigrant named George Remus quits practicing law and starts trafficking in whiskey, quickly becoming a multi-millionaire, controlling 35 percent of all liquor sold in Prohibition-era America by 1921. The King of the Bootleggers, and his second wife, Imogene, have Gatsby-esque parties at their Cincinnati mansion, passing out party favors of diamond jewelry and cars. Pioneering prosecutor Mabel Walker Willebrandt is determined to bring Remus down, and she dispatches her best investigator, Franklin Dodge, to do the job. Remus is quickly imprisoned for violating the Volstead Act and, with her husband in jail, Imogene begins an affair with Dodge. Together, they plot to ruin Remus, sparking a bitter feud that can only end in murder.

NFL Century: The One-Hundred-Year Rise of America’s Greatest Sports League, by Joe Horrigan

The NFL has come a long way from its founding in Canton, Ohio, in 1920. In the 100 years since that fateful day, football has become America’s most popular and lucrative professional sport. The former scrappy upstart league that struggled to stay afloat has survived a host of challenges — the Great Depression and World War II, controversies and scandals, battles over labor rights and competition from rival leagues — to produce American icons like Vince Lombardi, Joe Montana and Tom Brady. Its extraordinary and entertaining history is recounted by Horrigan, perhaps the greatest living historian of the NFL, who draws upon decades of NFL archives. Compelling, eye-opening and authoritative, NFL Century is a must-read for anyone who loves the game of football.

CHILDREN’S BOOKS

The King of Kindergarten, by Derrick Barnes

The king of kindergarten eats a good breakfast, dresses himself, and has a loving mother to kiss him goodbye. He is confident, kind and open to new experiences. He rests a bit, plays a bit, and shares. He has infectious enthusiasm for learning. The first day will be a breeze for the king of kindergarten! This wonderful little book should be required reading for every new king. (Ages 4-6.)

The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!, by Mo Willems

What’s the best thing about school for a pigeon? The school bus! This fun new Pigeon book from the rock star children’s author Willems (Elephant and Piggie series) will have everyone excited about going to school in the fall. (Ages 4-6.)

Even Monsters Go to School, by Lisa Wheeler

A back-to-school book that’s out of this world, Even Monsters Go to School is just perfect for giggle-inducing, first-day-of-school reading. (Ages 3-6.)

Dog Man: For Whom the Ball Rolls, by Dav Pilkey

Howl with laughter with Dog Man, the No. 1 New York Times best-selling series from the creator of Captain Underpants. In the newest installment of the wildly popular series that explores universally positive themes like empathy, kindness and persistence, Dog Man must face his fears and Petey the Cat learns the difference between being good and doing good. Readers will enjoy taking part in Pilkey’s #DoGood focus for the fall by doing good deeds of their own. (Ages 7-12.)

Scouts, by Shannon Greenland and James Patterson

Annie, Beans, Rocky and Finn are scouts headed out for a hike to the perfect spot to watch a meteor shower, but when a meteor hits, they find themselves on a bigger adventure than they ever imagined. An awesome adventure book for kids who love the outdoors and are looking for a quick fun read. (Ages 9-13.)

Sorcery of Thorns, by Margaret Rogerson

As the only foundling ever to be raised in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth Scribner has strength and powers like none other, powers she has gained from living among the books, among the Grimoires, and from the ink that seemingly runs in her veins. And if Elisabeth is going to save Austermeer from imminent evil, she is going to need all the power she can muster. Along with her inherited sword Demonslayer, the handsome, clever, tortured Magister Nathaniel Thorne, his mysterious demon and a few helpful friends along the way, Elisabeth will give her all to save both the Great Libraries and the world she loves. Fabulous fantasy for book lovers and adventure seekers alike, Sorcery of Thorns is an absolute page-turner from the very first inky scene. (Ages 14 and up.)  PS

Compiled by Kimberly Daniels Taws and Angie Tally

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
0
X